My favorite green smoothie

I was hooked on green juice the first time I tried one back in NYC. I love both Juice Press and Juice Generation equally and sadly for my taste buds but fortunately for my wallet, I moved from NYC when an enormous Juice Generation opened just across from my apartment.

In looking for alternatives, I stumbled upon Juicebox (1517 12th Ave #100 Seattle, WA 98122) here in my neighborhood Capitol Hill twice now and love their food options but most especially the delicious varieties of juices they serve. Although my green smoothie recipe below (I refrain from calling it a green juice as I just blend everything to consume the fiber & pulp which you omit by juicing) doesn’t contain any of the more special ingredients juicebox incorporates into their juices like turmeric root or ginger, it is a solid starter smoothie. As always, feel free to add more fruit to make it sweeter or more greens to make it even healthier.

All the ingredients in today's juice
All the ingredients in today’s juice

Green Smoothie Recipe

Serves 2

  • 1 Tablespoon matcha powder (currently use Maeda-en Matcha + Yuzu Booster)
  • ½ apple
  • ½ banana
  • 2 handfuls of spinach (approx 1 cup)
  • ½ cucumber (approx 1 cup diced)
  • 2 lemons, juiced

Pour filtered water into blender just until it submerges all the ingredients in the blender. Blend ingredients for 30-60 seconds until a homogeneous mixture and you have yourself a complete green smoothie!

All ingredients in blender just before it gets liquified!
All ingredients in blender just before it gets liquified!
Mmm sweet & healthy green smoothie. Absolutely guilt-free!
Mmm sweet & healthy green smoothie. Absolutely guilt-free!

If you’re using a smaller individual-sized blender like a Nutribullet, I recommend you cut the recipe in half. Otherwise, it’s fairly easy for the above recipe to completely fill up a 48 fl oz blender (especially if you use an entire apple, an entire banana, etc) so squeezing in more veggies may be slightly difficult though I’d love to switch out spinach with kale and incorporate more greens such as cilantro and celery down the road. Additionally, I plan on purchasing a less sugary version of Matcha as the current one I purchased at an Hmart has far too much sugar in it.

Have fun experimenting!

Recommended read: 6 Unintentional Habits that Wreck Your Healthy Eating Plan

I have made the mistake of falling victim to all six bad habits at some point in my life. I must reiterate the importance (and affordability) of buying in-season produce as well as overeating once you start to exercise. Its been a mild struggle for me to refrain from overeating on days when I run for half an hour but the important thing is that my fitness/training is not on a strenuous-enough level that merits eating more for what I’m burning. Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

