Beaches for all seasons: Alki Beach & Golden Gardens Park

You wouldn’t imagine Washington State to be much of a beach town, and it isn’t in the typical sense of the word. However I’ve managed to build up my momentum in being active outdoors (as long as the weather isn’t horrible) and have discovered that beaches not only serve as the perfect location for watersports and tanning but also for hikes year-round. I’ve been told it never gets terribly cold or snowy here in Seattle in the winter so lets see if I manage to make use of the trails nearby beaches even in December or better yet, in the new year. Need to craft those new years resolutions sometime soon too… As an avid shopper, the best way to encourage myself to keep up with my weekly fitness goals is with stylish and attractive fitness attire. Lululemon is a longtime favorite for me, though I need to look into some newer brands as I’m not a crazy devotee of any one particular brand.

After dragging my fiancé out of the house bright and early this Sunday morning, we took a brief road trip from our Capitol Hill neighborhood to west Seattle and 20 minutes later, landed at the east end of Alki Beach. Though the area in which we walked around at was more like a trail (we hadn’t reached the beach portion of the area as it was further west), getting in 2.5 miles of a workout is much better than nothing. Especially since my calves are still feeling the pain after my latest step cardio routine on Friday, I had to take it easy and relegate to just power walking this weekend.

A view of downtown Seattle (and the Space Needle) from Alki Beach
A view of downtown Seattle (and the Space Needle) from Alki Beach

Further around the “western” end of Alki Beach, the area was bustling with early-morning joggers and young families. It really extended the vibe of a small Pacific Northwest beach town, despite it being autumn. Really loved the area and the fact that it was finally warm and incredibly sunny made my morning as well, along with my requisite Starbucks Grande Soy Latte. This area would be so easy to just spend several hours, I will need to bring a book or more snacks to just spend a day here sometime.

Love these long-sleeve Swiftly shirts from Lululemon. Lightweight and colorful
Love these long-sleeve Swiftly shirts from Lululemon. Lightweight and colorful

Several weeks ago, on a much rainier weekend, I also took the time to explore Golden Gardens Park in Ballard (further north from my neighborhood). A less expansive beach that Alki, I imagine Golden Gardens as another fine option for a beach to those living north of downtown Seattle. However, in terms of trails to utilize for exercise, and greater space along the waters, Alki wins hands down.

View of Golden Gardens Park on a rainy, cloudy Seattle day
View of Golden Gardens Park on a rainy, cloudy Seattle day

On another note – traveling to Lima, Peru for the first two weeks of November to meet my fiancé’s family and to have a legit vacation in South America! I’m beyond thrilled to discover Lima, I’ve already made a list of things to do, eat, see and of course, I have some requisite must-dos to prep before my wedding next year! Anyone who knows me knows how particular I am about details when it comes to hair and makeup so that’ll be interesting to search for someone in Lima who can match my standards. But I’m staying optimistic and keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

