Favorite Bits of … Porter Magazine Winter 2015 Issue

Porter Magazine is a relatively young fashion magazine subscription which launched at the beginning of 2014 to supplement its popular high-end fashion website, Net-A-Porter.com. The word “porter” is French for “to buy” (essentially) and “Net-a-Porter” is a play on words on the fashion term “prêt à porter” which is French for “ready to wear.”

Fashion Week occurs biannually, starting in NYC then moving to London, Milan and culminating in Paris, every February for the upcoming Fall/Winter line and September for next year’s Spring/Summer collection. All outfits which fashion designers display at these biannual shows are essentially “ready to wear” outfits as customers can purchase and immediately wear their purchases as is. This is different from haute couture, a considerably more expensive and exclusive endeavor only a small percentage of designers worldwide take part in, and bespoke custom-order creations.

I selected some of my favorite bits from Porter Magazine’s latest Winter 2015 Issue featuring the chic French actress Marion Cotillard. To be completely frank, the magazine itself is more of an inspirational tool for me as I’m in no capacity at the moment to be able to afford ultra luxe, high-end designer merchandise. I think it’s important not to let such limitation prohibit one from gaining inspiration as the designers featured here continue to produce truly memorable and ultimately utilitarian items season after season. One man’s inspiration can be another’s invention after all.

I love carrying a small/medium-sized dark leather crossbody (or even shoulder bag). It transitions well from day to night, especially when the night is full of opportunity.

I love carrying a small or medium-sized dark leather cross-body or shoulder bag. Not only is it incredibly convenient to stow away your necessities (mine include my cards, keys, iPhone, lipstick of the day, and lip balm, at the very least) during the day, they transition particularly well from day to night, especially when you’re lucky enough to have one of those nights with an unprohibited schedule, free to go wherever the night takes you.

A sheer blouse is always a fine idea. Perfect for day, night, even the office (layered with a blazer)! Sleeveless sheer blouses keep you cool in humid climates. As I have dark hair, I particularly love white blouses but I love the look of a black sheer blouse on blondes.

A sheer blouse is a faultless idea. Perfect for day, evening, and even the office (layered with a blazer)! Sleeveless sheer blouses keep you cool in humid climates, it’s what saved me amidst the heat and humidity of NYC this past summer. I particularly love the look of white blouses on me as it contrasts well against my dark brown and black hair, but the contrast of a sheer black blouse goes equally well on blondes.

I remember back when the asymmetrical shoulder detail was a huge trend several years ago. While that's still a fair option, I much prefer an asymmetrical hemline. Gives it a far more seductive look, especially with heels and sheer pantyhose.

I remember back when the asymmetrical shoulder detail was a huge trend several years ago. Designers everywhere brought out copious one-shoulder cocktail dresses in the shades of the rainbow. I personally feel an asymmetrical hemline not only elongates the leg but also lends a far more seductive look to its wearer, especially when paired with stiletto heels and sheer pantyhose. Functional in both winter as in summer, regardless of material.

These corset boots have incredible sex appeal. I particularly love this sort of detail on a bootie but for an all-out show-stopping look, corset thigh-high boots would be the way to go.

Can anyone deny the allure and sex appeal of these corset boots?? I particularly love this sort of detail on a bootie as then the corset detail is more muted; but for an all-out show-stopping look, corset thigh-high boots are the way to go. Speaking of thigh high boots, those along with over-the-knee boots are styles I particularly love in the winter.

I believe I first understood the power of a statement jacket after my semester abroad in Paris. There, women tidily wore dark skinny jeans, a solid color t-shirt but amped up their outfit with a structured jacket and a lovely scarf of some sort. Jackets can really elevate the proper basics, as long as you make the jacket the focal point and not everything along with it.

I believe I was first swayed by the conviction of a statement jacket during the semester in which I lived in Paris. Parisienne women tidily wore dark skinny jeans, a T-shirt of a solid color but amped up their outfit with a structured jacket and a lovely voluminous scarf. Of course it helped that nearly every Parisienne lives in heels too. Jackets can really elevate the proper basics as long as you make the jacket the focal point and not everything else along with it.

Actually enjoyed learning more about Jessica Alba from this segment. She's an early bird and a healthy morning eater - something which I aspire to follow.

Actually enjoyed learning more about Jessica Alba from this segment. Beyond her being a successful actress-turned-entrepreneur, she’s an early bird and a healthy morning eater – more things about her which I aspire to follow.

Loved this particular quotation. NEVER let yourself go to your partner, husband, what have you! Always keep the seduction alive. Anything less is a surefire way to boredom.

Loved this particular quotation from Cindy Crawford. NEVER let yourself go in front of your partner, husband, what have you! It’s important to you and your partner that you stay mentally and physically fit and happy. Maintain and nurture your hobbies and passions as those enliven your individuality. Resist taking the easy way out. Most importantly, find ways to always keep the seduction alive. Anything less is a surefire way to boredom.

I've been seeking a camel coat these days. I feel that wrap coats, perhaps due to sheer size, make an impactful statement. While I've been told Seattle doesn't get TOO frigid to warrant heavy winter coats (of course I brought all of them from NYC with me), I obviously couldn't refuse the opportunity for a lightweight winter wrap coat in a camel shade..

I’ve been seeking a camel coat these days. Not only is it such a classic color, it invokes in me the feeling of cozy New England countryside. I feel that wrap coats, perhaps due to sheer size, make an impactful statement. Can you imagine how warm and cozy you would be enveloped in one? While I’ve been told Seattle doesn’t get TOO frigid to warrant heavy winter coats (of course I brought all of them from NYC with me when I moved here), I obviously couldn’t refuse the opportunity for a lightweight winter wrap coat in a camel shade..

Fell in love with this feature on black leather dripping with carats and carats of diamonds. I've loved diamonds with nude/flesh-tone articles of clothing but this just inspired me to incorporate diamonds/crystal jewelry in a new way.

Fell in love with this feature on black leather dripping with carats and carats of diamonds. One of my favorite dresses in my collection is a lacy strapless flesh-tone number; I’ve loved the look of diamonds with nude/flesh-tone articles of clothing but this editorial has now inspired me to incorporate diamonds/crystal jewelry in a new way, with dark leather. Combine edge with elegance. We women are full of nuances, this is just another avenue in which to showcase yourself.

A zippered black leather tube top (details in the magazine state it's actually a dress) makes such a show-stopping statement.

A zippered black leather tube top (details in the magazine state it’s actually a dress from the one-and-only French label Zadig & Voltaire) makes such a show-stopping statement when paired with sparkling gems.

IMG_6386

I was pleasantly surprised to find a segment of Katie Couric at the end of the magazine – particularly loved her tip on tipping generously (I currently work part-time in food services and am particularly gracious to customers who have the kindness to tip) as well as on reconnecting with an old friend every week. I shouldn’t let the fact that I’m now on the West coast deter me from keeping in touch with my friends in other time zones. If I don’t make the effort now, friendships can easily wither away. And there are few things as important as friendship in life.

Leave a Reply

