My favorite “happy” salad & guilty-pleasure pancakes

I love to have the time to consume large quantities of fresh fruits & vegetables. So, I whipped up a huge salad for lunch after a quick yoga session this morning. The best part of salads is that all you need is to combine what you have in your fridge. I love to start off with a base of tomatoes and cucumbers; a salad feels incomplete without these two ingredients for me. One of my most reliable dressings (which you can order at any salad joint) is olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Today, I decided to be ambitious and create a huge salad that would keep me full for hours. It took me a while to finish this!

IMG_7051
All components of the salad – freshly washed, ready to be diced
IMG_7056
The salad has come together!

The only thing I’m missing from this enormous happy salad is protein – chicken breast, tuna, quinoa or edamame would’ve been ideal. The dressing is a modification of this Asian Ginger dressing which  I found one day when I was craving something different than my usual (olive oil + lemon juice + salt + pepper). Recipe is below!

Components of today’s salad

  • 2 Fuji apples, cored and diced
  • 1 cucumber, seeds removed
  • 4-5 pieces of romaine lettuce
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 4 tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced & soaked in water

Modified Asian Ginger dressing

  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1.5 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 T minced ginger
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 2 T sesame oil
  • 2 T & 2 t rice vinegar
  • 1 aji limo pepper, seedless (optional, any spicy pepper works)
  • 1/2 lemon

Put all ingredients in a jar, Nutribullet or blender. Shake or blend for 30 seconds, then it’s ready to be enjoyed!

I had a peculiar craving for carbs this evening.. breakfast for dinner in particular. Thank god for google as I found this amazing fluffy pancake recipe. I didn’t have white vinegar on hand so I omitted it but it STILL came out incredibly buttery, soft and fluffy in my waffle maker. Topped with butter and cinnamon sugar – breakfast for dinner perfection!

Leave a Reply

